Steps of DIY PCB Making

As I said in the previous post I needed to remake my CNC controller boards. Here’s the work done.

Board cutting.

pcb-making-01

Filing.

pcb-making-02

Edge lapping. Wet sandpaper gives great finish to the edges, and makes deburring easier.

pcb-making-03

Cleaning. I used to use abrasive sponge here, but a good polishing a cleaning works well.

pcb-making-04

Preparing transfer. In the past I’ve used plain laser printing method, but press’n peel paper makes it easier. I suspect scale of the Y axis of my printings it’s a very little shrink, so I will do some tests next time.

pcb-making-05

Iron. Not too little, not too much pressure. You can guess what I did with the cloth.

pcb-making-06

Retouch. There’s always some details to retouch; I never get a perfect transfer (please note thin lines are 0.016 width, tough). I had to repeat one defective transfer.

pcb-making-07

Etching. Ready within minutes if you swing the plate.

pcb-making-08

Toner cleaning. Some acetone damp papers will do the work.

pcb-making-09

Tin coating. So great product!. Next time I will use a plastic food box so I can store it for next use.

pcb-making-10

Checking and correcting. Sometimes there are very thiner bridges between paths. They can mess all the work.

pcb-making-11

Drilling. I have a mini drill press, but hand drilling works far best for me. I broke several of these carbide drills at the beginning some years ago, but not this time (very frustrating, as I remember). As widely known by EAGLE users, one of the keys is to use the “limit drill diameter” ULP.

pcb-making-12

Flux coating. Mine dry very fast, so I should apply within 5 seconds or so to get a clean coating.

pcb-making-13

Look finished pcbs. Good enough for me.

pcb-making-14

Soldering. I like to use 0.5mm solder wire, but this time I did all with 1mm solder wire. It’s easy to put too much solder with this.

pcb-making-16

Mounting. Here’s the finished core of the controller.

pcb-making-17

That’s all. BTW, at least two of these boards works well (haven’t tested the others).

This entry was posted in All, Electronics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Steps of DIY PCB Making

  1. Thanks for the brief tutorial. I could see myself doing this for my arduino bartender project. Check it out: http://www.theliquorator.wordpress.com

Leave a comment